Wakfs Board

The Wakf Board of Sri Lanka

For the purpose of enacting according to the Muslim Mosques and Charitable Trusts or ‘’Wakf Act’ a ‘Wakf board’ should be appointed which shall consist of the Director and seven other members appointed by the minister. The Minister may appoint one of the members other than the Director as the Chairman of Wakf Board. The Minister has the rights to remove any member of the board from office if he is not satisfied with the way such member discharge his duties. The removal of any member of the Board from office by the Minister shall not be called in question in any court.

If a person;

  • Is not a Muslim; or
  • Is, or becomes, a Member of Parliament; or
  • Is or becomes a trustee of a registered mosque, a Muslim shrine or place of religious resort or a Muslim charitable trust or Wakf

-Shall be disqualified for appointment as a member of the Board or if so appointed, shall vacate the office. Every member appointed by the Minister shall hold office for a period of three years from the date of his appointment. The 25th Wakf Board of Sri Lanka has been appointed at present.

25th Wakfs Board of Sri Lanka

S.N Name Designation
01 Mr. Shabry Haleemdeen, Attorney at Law Chairman
02 Dr. A. Uthuman Lebbe Member
03 Sheikh M. Arkam Nooramith, Member
04 Mr. Muhammad Siraj Wahid Member
05 Mr. Moulavi M.F. Fasrul. Member
06 Mr. Rafeek Ismail Member
07 Mr. Zacky Ahmed Member

24th Wakfs Board of Sri Lanka

S.N Name of Board Members Position
01 Mr.S.M.M. Yaseen Chairman
02 Mr.J.M. Ashraff Member
03 Mr.M.M.Mohinudeen Member
04 Mr.N.M.M.Bishrul Ameen Member
05 Dr.A.S.Nawfal Member
06 Mr.Mahil Dhool Member
07 Mr. S.H. Aathambawa Member
08 Mr. M.R.M. Malik (Director, Department of MRCA) Member

Contact Details of Members of the 23rd Wakf Board of Sri Lanka

No Name Position E.Mail
01 Mr. S.M.M.Yaseen Chairman
02 Mr.Shiraz Noordeen Member
03. Mr.S.H.Athambawa Member
04 Mr. U.A.Najeem Member
05 Mr. J.M.Ashraff Member
06 Mr. M.M.Mohinudeen Member
07 Mr. A.A.M.Rayees Member


18th Wakf Board of Sri Lanka
Alhaj S.H.M. Mahroof  Chairman
Mr. H. Ghazzali Hussain  Member
Mr. H.I. Khairul Basher  Member
Moulavi S.H. Atham Bawa  Member
Mr. M.N. Iyoob  Member
Mr. J. Thariq Mahmud  Member
19th Wakf Board of Sri Lanka
Alhaj S.H.M. Mahroof  Chairman
Alhaj H. Ghazali Hussain Member
Alhaj Muslim Salahudeen
Alhaj  H.I. Khairul Basher Member
Alhaj Moulavi S.H. Atham Baw Member
Mr. J.Tariq Mahamud Member
Mr. M.I. Ameer Director (MMCT)
20th Wakf Board of Sri Lanka
Al-Haj   Mansoor Marikkar  Chairman
Mr  T.H. Careem Member
Al-Haj  M.L.M.H. Mohideen Hussain
Moulavi Mufthi M.I.M. Rizwe Member
Dr A. Uthumalebbe Member
Al-Haj  M.I. Uthumalebbe Member
Al-Haj  P.P.T. Mohideen Member
Mr M.I. Ameer Director (MMCT)
21st Wakf Board of Sri Lanka
Mr. Shabry Haleemdeen Attorney-at-Law Chairman
Mr. H.M.M. Mashood Member
Mr. A.H.A. Junaid Member
Mr. S.M.M. Junaid Member
Mr. M.Rafeek Ismail Deputy Director (MMCT)
22nd Wakf Board of Sri Lanka
Mr. M.A.S.Uwaise Chairman
Mr. S.M.Noordeen, Attorney-at-Law Member
Mr. T.H.Careem, Attorney-at-Law Member
Mr. M.M.Baheej, Attorney-at-Law Member
Mr. N.M.M.Ubaid Member
Mr. M.H.M. Zameel Director (MMCT)